Our history

Everymind is an Institute that is built on a strong reputation, guided by values and prepared for the future.

Everymind was established in 1992 as the Hunter Institute of Mental Health, and was rebranded in 2017 to better connect the name of the Institute to our purpose and ways of working.

A brief snapshot of our history

  • 1992 –The Hunter Institute of Mental Health commenced operations through the Hunter Area Health Service, with a specific focus on local education and training
  • 1997 – Commenced working nationally with funding under the first National Youth Suicide Prevention Strategy, with a focus on building the capability of diverse sectors to play a role in the prevention of mental ill-health and suicide
  • 2007 – The Institute has a diverse funding base and is building a reputation for world-leading translational research and fit-for-purpose and scalable prevention programs
  • 2017 – Rebranded as Everymind and recognised for the design and delivery of world-leading prevention programs and research – including groundbreaking work with the media, education, workplaces, families and communities.

Our leadership

The founding directors of our Institute were Professor Vaughan Carr and Professor Trevor Waring.

The Institute was led by well-respected psychologist, educator and community leader Professor Trevor Waring until 2004, creating a solid platform for Everymind with a reputation for high-quality work at the local and national level.

Between 2004 and 2012, the Institute was led by Mr Trevor Hazell, bringing to Everymind an expertise in population health and health promotion approaches. This extended the Institute's capacity and skill to develop and deliver scalable mental health and suicide prevention programs.

From 2012, Everymind has been led by Dr Jaelea Skehan OAM, an internationally respected leader in the prevention of suicide and the prevention of mental ill-health.

Read more about our Director

Learn More

Back to About